How things catch us unaware…

I have been getting steadily worse since I started this blog.  I have tried and tried to keep playing…doing heroics and LFR in hopes that I could Raid again.  But this last bit of news I got last week, along with me feeling very crummy and weak, has left me wondering how or if I will continue to play World of Warcraft.

A week ago today, I received the results of a fine needle biopsy done on a thyroid nodule my neurologist found accidentally during an MRI of my neck while looking for evidence that my RA had spread to my spine.  I was told I had thyroid cancer.  It was a shock to both of us, but my neurologist was quick to look up the specifics of the type diagnosed…papillary carcinoma-cystic type and reassured me that it has one of the highest recovery rates of any other cancer.  Then in the next breathe, he was on the phone to my Rheumatologist to relay the news and get them going on a referral to a surgeon and/or endocrinologist.

I am scheduled for surgery on Jan. 16th and see the Endocrinologist on Jan. 7th.  Not sure for what, but she wants to see me before my surgery.

The surgeon said this type of cancer is a slow growing type and that I have probably had it for at least 2 years.  It is definitely why I am feeling so terrible and why my RA meds don’t seem to be doing enough for me lately.  It seems to have sent my RA into overdrive for some reason.  Lucky me.

So now, after spending the last day and a half in bed feeling miserable, I have wondered what to do with my blog.  I guess as far as giving up WoW, that won’t happen…my family thinks I should play when I am able and have as much fun as I can.  God knows that some days I can’t think fast enough for LFR…found that out the hard way was called everything under the sun the other day.  So I won’t be doing that again.

Now to figure out what I can do…

Maybe this would be a good time to farm ore and build up some gold?  Or maybe fishing?  Dailies of course…as long as I keep it solo.  At least it would pass the time and keep me busy with something other than doctors and all this tossing back and forth in my head.

There are many people who play WoW with similar health issues and for the same reasons.  To be able to get away without leaving home, to relax and have fun and socialize with friends can make all the difference some days.  Some days it is ALL there is that keeps us going.  I just need to keep the group activities to a minimum unless I am confident that I can hold my own..i.e. having a good day.

And on good days…let me tell you…I am going to run LFR if I can with WoL running from now on!  My last LFR run on Calizari was a really good run.  But I was shocked to see her topping meters at 72K+…on trash.  It was EVERY trash group in the room, since someone goofed and pulled a bit too much, but it was fun!  My overhealing done was 31.5%…which was much lower than 4 of the other healers that group.  If I would have been logging that and could have uploaded it, maybe I could have seen what it was I did right.  For the most part, I didn’t have to think about anything during that pull.  It was nice.  But that changed the following day…I was shaky and not feeling well and should not have even tried LFR…I barely did 25K healing  with 47% of it being overhealing and couldn’t move fast enough on fight mechanics.  Huge difference…so I will stick to doing LFR or Heroics only when I am feeling pretty good.

WoWScrnShot_121712_210641

How I wish I had been running WoL!

At least I managed to get Calliophea caught up to Calizari gear-wise.  I really love playing my resto shaman gals.  Lots of fun!

Merry Christmas to all…and may you and yours have a great New Year!

Leave a comment