World of Warcraft with Fibromyalgia

My life has changed since Fibromyalgia. Some refer to it as Fibromyalgia Syndrome (aka FMS), but most of us just call it Fibro.  It changes everyone who has it, but each in a different way.  Being told there is no cure is disheartening.

One of the few hobbies I have left is World of Warcraft.  I also like reading good books when my vision isn’t a blurry mess.

Okay, so things changed.  The burning in my shoulders will not be going away and pushing past the burning pain is NOT an option.  With or without pain meds, the burning is there if I over do something…anything.  Cleaning the livingroom carpet took me 3 hours earlier this week…and is still kicking my butt today, two days later.  So I haven’t played much at all.  But once I have a pretty good day, look out!  As long as I can keep myself from playing too long I should be okay.  Sometimes I can play for 2 hours and be okay, other times I can play for 30 minutes and have pain in my shoulders which can make my whole body tense up…which means I have to stop for a while, sometimes for a couple days.

I can say it, I hate this crap!  Before I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, I had never even heard of it.  The symptoms are similar to MS, any or many of the 80 forms of lupus, thyroid problems and various types of arthritis and/or a combination thereof.  Although many with Fibromyalgia may already have some form of other chronic illness, those who don’t very well could later on.  Fibromyalgia seems to open the door just enough for other chronic ailments to squeeze in.  It definitely wears a person out.  Being sore and often times fatigued for no reason tends to limit what folks with Fibromyalgia do.  The best way for me to put it so everyone understands is this:  After Fibromyalgia you are not the same person you were before the Fibromyalgia.  It affects your whole life in ways you hadn’t thought of.

Worst of all, there is no blood test that will diagnose it.  So many have been told for years that its all in their heads.  Recent research has shown that it is literally in our heads, but not like some would like to think. Even Dr. Oz had a short portion of his show back in March where he talked a little about Fibromyalgia and had a human brain that had been cut in half to show how the brain is either affected by Fibromyalgia or how Fibromyalgia occurs from changes in our brain.  More needs to be done to determine what came first, and there will be many sighs of relief once they get a better understanding of FMS.

Things I was noticing in my WoW play time months before I was diagnosed:

#1- Brain fog…I was having a hard time concentrating in Raids and was easily distracted. I still have issues with being easily distracted, and its annoying!

#2- Irritability…I found myself turning the volume down on my headset or just taking my headset off for quieter game play.  It just seemed too loud for some reason. Even now I tend to play without sound unless I need to be in Vent for something.

#3- Misspelling and forgetting what I wanted to say in guild chat.  Or even worse, messaging the wrong person.  Even speaking was hard at times…I would forget a word I wanted to say or would use the wrong word…making talking in ventrilo or mumble stressful.  Stress…another way to make Fibro rear its ugly head.

#4- Fatigue and Pain…Slower reaction time when healing a Raid or even 5 man’s.  It really irritated the heck out of me. Most of the time I thought it was because I was just too tired from work.  But I felt the same way every day…even after coming home and falling asleep on the couch and being so sore in places where I shouldn’t have been sore.

#5- Lack of Motivation…I just wasn’t having fun anymore.  Not playing at my best really sucked and I felt like I may have to give up playing anymore.  Then I came across this thread in the WoW forums: http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/4038615902?page=1    So after reading all 43 pages of that, I decided that if people with worse/more health issues than myself kept trying and kept playing, then I damn well could find a way to play too!

So this past week I have been using the time when I’m too sore to play, to try to figure out how I can make the game fun for myself again.  So, I started reading posts in the New Player Help section of Gameplay and Guides forums.  People who asked how other players choose a race, faction, and how people go about picking a ‘Main’ toon. Choosing a role is easy enough…I want to stay a healer. It’s what I have had the most fun doing in WoW. Faction…got to be Horde!

Essentially, I have decided to start over and figure out what race and class I find the funnest to play.

So Fibro can kick back and watch me play…

HealzwithFibro

Leave a Reply

