IRL getting in the way of Raiding….again

This past couple weeks have been frustrating.  Today I realized that I may not ever raid again…at least nothing above and beyond LFR.  My health just isn’t going to allow it I guess.  By the time they figure out what the heck is going on with me, I will have missed too much time and have lost my spot to raid.  I will be right back where I started…looking for a guild that wants to raid but needs to fill spots.   What a PITA!

I have been referred to a Neurologist and was told that they will be scheduling a head and/or spine MRI.  The only thing my rheumatologist had mentioned during my appointment was that I may have neuropathy in my feet.  That alone is not good but I was too curious to know what they could be looking for in a Head/Spine MRI.  What I found I didn’t like either.  I found two things they look for when they do these specific MRIs…the first is tumors…the second is lesions or scarring of the nerves caused by Multiple Sclerosis.  So now I am comparing symptoms and the biggest one I have been having almost every night is the numbing/tingling of my arms, legs, hands and feet.  Sometimes its all of them being numb and tingling when I wake in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom.  It has gotten progressively worse over the past week and I am now on pain pills every 8 hours.

It helps, but I am still having a hard time walking.  So between that and the pain meds, I am not driving for now until they get this figured out.  I really don’t know what to do at this point but stop researching things until one of the doctors has a definite diagnosis.

I have been playing when I can and just try to focus on having fun and doing whatever I can in WoW for now.   There is not much else I can do at this point.

I am scheduled to have surgery on Nov. 8th for a separate health issue as long as nothing comes up that could postpone it.  So I only have from now until then to get a few things done before I have to take a week or two off.   I am hoping that is the longest I will have to stay off of my desktop, but I will have my laptop to keep up on reading and forums during that time.  I need to stay busy and focus on recovering so that I can tackle whatever is next.  Without WoW to keep my focus away from the stress that has been building up this past 10 months and the fact that I have been getting worse…I would no doubt be much more stressed than I currently am.  Playing has been a way to  steer the focus away from all of this between doctors visits.  Now it will be my focus to get me through up to my surgery.  During my recovery I will be doing lots of reading.  I have lots of Terry Brooks Shannara series to finish yet and keeping up with resto shaman blogs, MMO Champion forums and of course the WoW forums should keep me busy enough for the first couple weeks.  If that isn’t enough, I have two rather thick Sudoku books to work on.  😉

Having fun while I can, because the alternative sucks!

Leave a Reply

